Historical Security Council - HSC


​The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) is a permanent council established by the UN Charter, with the sole purpose of maintaining international peace and security. It is composed of 15 members; 5 permanent members (referred to as the P5 nations; United States, USSR (Russia), China (replaced Taiwan after UNSC Resolution 2758 in 1971), France and the UK and 10 non-permanent members (elected every two years). The UNSC is the only council that can force a nation to do something, as long as it passes in a Resolution (Article 25). For a Resolution to pass within the UNSC, there must be 9 votes in favor, and none of the P5 nation may veto the resolution. Furthermore, if a member of the UNSC is directly involved in a dispute being debated within the UNSC, then that member may only abstain from voting on any resolution regarding that dispute (Paragraph 3, Article 27). The UNCS may also establish sub-committees to aid its efforts, and can call for investigations of fact-finding missions (through the Office of the High Commissioner on Human Rights (OHCHR)) to obtain more information on a dispute (keep this in mind when writing your resolutions). Within the MUN world, the Historical United Nations Security Council is the equivalent to the United Nations Security Council. However, it deals with conflicts and issues that happened in the past. 

Committee Board




Historical Security Council is an upper-intermediate council.

This council will include 11 member states.